Skip to content ↓
  • slideshow image
  • slideshow image
  • slideshow image

The Governing Body

St Dominic’s governing body comprises up to twenty individuals.  The majority are “Foundation Governors”, appointed by the Diocese of Westminster to ensure the Roman Catholic ethos of the College.  Other governors include staff members, students, co-opted persons with particular skills, and the Principal himself. 

The governors come from all walks of life and have a variety of professional backgrounds.  They provide strategic direction for the College, oversee its main activities and are a “critical friend” to the Principal and the Senior Leadership Team, holding them to account as and when necessary.  However, the governors should avoid becoming too involved in the day to day management of the College.

The Governing Body meets four times a year to deal with the College’s most important business. Each of the governors is a member of one or more sub-committees, including those dealing with “Catholicity & Curriculum”, “Finance & General Purposes”, “Quality & Standards”, “Audit” and lastly “Search” (dealing with governors’ succession planning).  Those sub-committees transact the governors’ business and feed their reports through to the full governing body’s meetings.

The governors are assisted by an independent clerk, who advises them on procedural points and minutes of their meetings.

Those interested in becoming a governor and who feel they have skills or attributes that might assist the Governing Body, are most welcome to contact the Chair of Governors through the clerk. The Diocese also maintains a list of practising Roman Catholics putting themselves forward as potential Foundation Governors for educational institutions in the Roman Catholic sector.

The Chair of the Governing Body is Mr David Martin - if you need to contact him, please email or write to him c/o St Dominic's Sixth Form College, Mount Park Avenue, Harrow on the Hill, Middlesex HA1 3HX.